Using Flash for MIDI

I’ve spent a long time trying to get Flash to speak MIDI effectively. It started quite a while ago with Alexis Isaac’s (now pretty much defunct) FlashMidi, which seemed to work fine at the time but is Windows only and firmly stuck in AS2.

 

…and AS2

…and AS2

 

Then I moved on to Red5, and many nights bombarding John Grden’s message boards. Whilst Red5 at first seemed great – it was certainly much more responsive than FlashMidi, and cross platform – I soon got stuck trying to send MIDI CC data. Sending notes was fine, which is great for things like triggering samples or turning effects on and off, but without Continuos Controller data there was no filter sweeps or volume changes. I’m not saying you can’t send MIDI CC data with Red5 – and I don’t see any reason you wouldn’t be able to – I just never found out how to do it. Oh yeah, and it’s biiig! Red5 Server came to around 55MB last time I checked. Then, it does do much more than just MIDI

 

Built using Red5

Built using Red5

 

 

Next I moved on to FLOsc, which I had been aware of the whole time but never took into consideration. Whilst FLOsc sends OSC messages as opposed to MIDI, there are applications out there to convert between the two.

Most of what I have found regarding FLOsc has been using Flash to talk with MAKE boards. This turtorial over at phy5ics.com got me started. He was using the FWiidom FLOsc AS3 Classes, which were obviously used for Flash and a Nintendo Wiimote. I only had to make a small change to the classes to get it to work properly with Occam, and we have Flash speaking MIDI!

I’ll post the classes (as long as the relevant people say it’s ok), and all my source code for anything related to the above as soon as possible.

UPDATE : Thanks to Adam at DustyPixels.com I’ve posted my updated versions of his AS3 classes. You can get them here.

16 Responses to Using Flash for MIDI

  1. Adam says:

    Hi, the Fwiidom stuff was mine, just spotted the trackback. Glad someone’s getting some use out of it, feel free to do whatever you want with it.

    Adam

  2. […] of the flOSC classes above, also has a good round-up on using MIDI in Flash. This entry was written by Momo the Monster, posted on August 2, 2009 at 4:14 pm, filed under […]

  3. p says:

    I couldnt find your link to yur classes for midi from flash.

    would you please let me know how to get it?

    thank you!

    pablo

    • tim says:

      if you let me know your email address i’ll send them to you. i don’t have any hosting at the moment.

  4. t says:

    I’d love to see the classes as well. I’d also be happy to host them for you.

  5. Jean says:

    I could sure use that MIDI class. Could you send it to my email? thank you VERY much!

  6. WalterSear says:

    I would also love to get my hands on these. And can provide hosting, if necessary.

    Please let us know.

  7. WalterSear says:

    Come to think of it, I would suggest that you host this on google code, bitbucket or somewhere else where we can help improve it 🙂

    • tim says:

      Hi Walter, sorry about the über-late reply.
      I would have loved to have got these up on some sort of proper hosting, but I never had the time to format them properly, etc.
      If you or anyone else here would be up for helping, it would be great to get them up somewhere in a more accesible format.
      I will dig the files out (they have become a bit buried under other projects that have taken precedence) and get them to you. Hopefully you or DYSKO (below) will still be up for hosting.

      Regards,

      Tim

  8. Was wondering if i could get access to your midi controller classes.. any chance it could get emailed to me aswell?

  9. DYSKO says:

    hello can you send me as classes too?i can upload it to my hosting and put link here for others.)

    • tim says:

      Hi, sorry i’ve been completely off the radar for a while. I will email you the classes, hopefully you are still up for hosting them as that would be fantastic. I haven’t been keeping on top of them, and they may well have been left in a bit of a shocking state, but they were working. hopefully someone here will have the time to help clean them up!

  10. JT says:

    Hi — I’d be interested in the MIDI class, too. Thanks.

  11. frangy says:

    Hi Tim,

    your project is very interesting !

    Can you send me this class ?

    Thanks

  12. […] Using Flash for MIDI « boringBlogFeb 1, 2009 … I’ve spent a long time trying to get Flash to speak MIDI effectively. It started quite a while ago with Alexis Isaac’s (now pretty much defunct) … […]

  13. Good blog post. I definitely appreciate this site. Stick with it!

Leave a Reply

